Statoil ASA "Joins" the Scams "League"
Article: Is it possible that a big company is dragged into scams without even knowing it?
Short Answer: Yes, it it. But Oil Offshore Marine has been on alert from the very beginning. UPDATE: Following our official communication with Statoil, the domain http://statoil-ng.com has been shut down on June 28, 2007. You can still view some snapshots below, at the Supporting Documentation information - see bottom of the page.
Long Answer: Yes, 100% accurate. Now it's official: Statoil ASA www.statoil.com "joins" the Job Scams "League" by having a Statoil Nigeria "Official" Website - which is a fake website. Continued below...
!!! This information is Oil Offshore Marine's Research Work and it is protected by exclusive copyright rights; you can of course read it but you cannot copy it and use it without our written authorization. If you wish to take any information and use it for online websites or printed materials, all you need to do is send us an email and we'll authorize you, free of charge, to use it; we will issue a written authorization - lacking a written authorization from Oil Offshore Marine, you are simply breaking the copyright laws and you shall be liable to us for copyright infringement and any damages.
This fake Statoil Nigeria "Official" Website [make sure you pop-up blocker is active and your anti-virus is ON] is http://statoil-ng.com/
http://statoil-ng.com is a FAKE website, designed to steal Statoil's corporate identity and use it for FRAUD. For comparison, Statoil's real website is www.statoil.com and Statoil Nigeria contact details are these.
For our highly-trained eyes, is was clearly a scam as soon as we opened the webpage. But for those who do not have our expertise, let's have some explanations put down.
We had determined that http://statoil-ng.com is a FAKE website, designed to steal Statoil's corporate identity and use it in order to fool people most probably by issuing fake "job offers" and indicating they are originals issued directly by Statoil Nigeria. Many people might fall in their trap and lose identity, bank accounts info, and money.
Reasons for our conclusion:
1. http://statoil-ng.com has a very, very bad design, and absolutely no structure. But let's leave this aside, and assume, just for the game, this is just a browser-display problem.
2. Statoil's logo on http://statoil-ng.com is hilarious, since it's deformed. When stealing it from Statoil's real website, the job scammers probably didn't think about having a nice logo.
3. The information presented on http://statoil-ng.com is extremely limited, poor in essence, but solves that by adding many photos.
4. At the Career information, meaning http://statoil-ng.com/Career.htm, the job scammers say that a certain "Harry Lukeman" is the executive vice president for corporate human resources ?!? The job scammers also indicate the Careers official email, which is hr_statoil@engineer.com; for those of you who don't know, engineer.com is a free email address provided by www.mail.com. Had this been the real Statoil Nigeria, the email address should have been ***@statoil.com such as careers@statoil.com or humanresources@statoil.com or recruit@statoil.com
5. The contact page, http://statoil-ng.com/contact.htm is simply stupid. Here's what the scammers claim for address: Statoil Nigeria Limited, K/M 108 Industrial Layout, Yaba, Lagos State Nigeria. Tel: +234.703.151.0903 Fax: +234.82.8984, E-mail: info@statoil-ng.com
Now compare these with the real Statoil Nigeria contact details taken from here: Statoil (Nigeria) Ltd, 1A Bourdillon Road, P.O.Box 56190, Falomo, Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria Tel: +234 1 269 0491 Fax: +234 1 269 1245
6. Now some IT info: http://statoil-ng.com was registered on June 2, 2007 at GKG.NET and is hosted on 83.245.63.180, IP from UK - www.gkg.net is an US company. While www.gkg.net seems to be a reliable company/web provider, http://statoil-ng.com obviously isn't.
Attention: The information on Statoil Nigeria http://statoil-ng.com OR coming from info@statoil-ng.com, humanresources@statoil-ng.com, hr_statoil@engineer.com is completely false, inaccurate, and misleading. These are all FAKES designed to fool the jobseekers. See above information on REAL Statoil; by the way, the official website of Statoil Nigeria is this and not http://statoil-ng.com
Oil Offshore Marine has officially informed Statoil about this case. UPDATE: Following our official communication with Statoil, the domain http://statoil-ng.com has been shut down on June 28, 2007.
Supporting documentation [click on numbers]:
1, 2, 3, and 4
To read more information about Job Scams, please click here.
|